Empowering Local Businesses
Home city guide courts in dehradun

Courts in Dehradun

The courts functioning at District Level in Dehradun are based on a three tier system. These district courts come directly under the High Court of Uttarakhand and oversee justice in Dehradun under the administrative and supervisory policy of the High Court.

Courts in Dehradun
(image for representation purpose only)

District and Sessions Judge

The District and Sessions Court is the highest court in the three tier court system of Uttarakhand. This is the prime court of civil jurisdiction and therefore, administers all the cases related to civil matters. The court of District and Sessions Judge is also the place where sessions case are tried. In addition to the principle court, Dehradun also has eight Additional District and Sessions Judge.

Both types of courts have equal jurisdiction and exercise authority on both original and appellate side during civil and criminal cases in the District. However, for criminal matters, the jurisdiction is completely based on the Code of Criminal Procedure, which sets the maximum sentence that a Sessions court may give. The District Court Judge also performs as the supervisory officer of Motor Accident Claims Tribunal related to matters of motor accident.

Moreover, the District and Sessions Judge has supervisory and administrative authority over all the decisions related to Judges and Judicial Magistrates including the decision related to the amount of work to be allocated to them. They also enjoy the authority to handle state funds given for the improvement of judiciary in Dehradun.

Court of Chief Judicial Magistrate & Court of Judicial Magistrate 1st Class

These courts function in every district of Uttarakhand including the capital city of Dehradun. In some districts, depending upon the workload, Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate court and Additional Judicial Magistrate courts are also functioning currently. In case of criminal matters, court of Chief Judicial Magistrate and Judicial Magistrate 1st class can give punishment as stated in the C.P.C. The court of Chief Judicial Magistrate is subordinate to the court of District and Sessions Judge and the court of Judicial Magistrate is subordinate to the court of Chief Judicial Magistrate.

Other than the above-mentioned courts, there are many additional courts in each district of Uttarakhand that are subordinate to the court of District and Sessions Judge. These include Courts of Civil Judge (Senior Division) and Civil Judge (Junior Division) and depending upon the workload, some additional courts of Additional Civil Judge (Senior Division) and Court of Additional Civil Judge (Junior Division) are also functioning in the District. Dehradun currently has 11 Courts of Additional Civil Judge (Senior Division) and 5 Courts of Additional Civil Judge (Junior Division).

In addition to the above, Dehradun has one Family Court and 1 court of Additional Family Judge. These courts are under the authority of Higher Judicial Service Cadre. Moreover, Labor Court and Labor court cum Industrial Tribunal are also established in Dehradun. In every district of Uttarakhand, a Consumer forum and Juvenile Boards are set up to deal with consumer grievances and juveniles. The State Consumer Redressal Commission is set up in Dehradun. Furthermore, to offer legal aid to poor people, the District Legal Services Authority is established in every district of Uttarakhand.

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries